Vegan Restaurant Guide

Koh Phangan

Vegan – authentic – low budget

Die besten Cafés und Restaurants in Koh Phangan

In August 2022 we spent 3 weeks in Koh Phangan and were looking for the best vegan Thai food for low budget. 

During that time, we fell so much in love with the food that it was hard to leave this beautiful island. 

In addition to super good restaurants, we have also spotted various street food markets and also found some cute cafes. I would like to share some insider tips with you in this guide, so that you can also experience the best food in Thailand.

Down below you can find all the locations of the tips linked on a map. If you click on the headings, you will also be taken directly to the respective restaurants and cafes.

Restaurants

Food Guide Koh Phangan

Our favorite Restaurant

Even if the restaurant looks very unpretentious and well, let's say extremely messy from the outside, we have fallen in love with the food of Mama Pooh so much that this became our absolute favorite restaurant on the island. The restaurant is run entirely by the probably most loving little granny on the island, which is why it can sometimes take a little longer - but it is worth the waiting time! The food tastes super authentic, there are many vegan options, free water and all for very little money. While Mama Pooh cooks, her husband works next door on old equipment and 20s or 60s music plays in the background, so you feel as if you were a guest of a Thai family. Fun fact: Since Mama Pooh barely speaks English, you have to write down your order yourself: Number of the dish, quantity, price and spiciness on a scale of 1-5 (If you like it nice and spicy I can recommend a 4, for the mild taste rather 1-2).

Favorite dishes: Thai-Eggplant with tofu and Massaman-Curry.

Everything delicious - many vegan options

Our second favorite restaurant. Here, every Thai dish is available in a vegan version, allowing you to feast on the entire variety of Thai cuisine. Here you can try a different dish every day, because everything tastes delicious! Not only are the prices good, but also the atmosphere: there is always a good atmosphere and cool music.

Favorite Dishes: Khao-Soi and Tom Yam.

Good and cheap

We tried K.C. Kitchen when our other two favorite restaurants had closed and were immediately convinced! The food was super tasty, especially the mango salad was really refreshing and not quite as sweet as you often get it served. You can help yourself to water and ice cubes as much as you want and you can sit here with a nice view onto the street and the jungle in the background.

Favorite dishes: Papayasalad and Stir Fried Cashew Nuts.

Streetfood

Huge choice, small price

The Phantip Market near the harbor is perfect if you want to try different street food and want a lively atmosphere. Here you can find various Thai food for low budget: e.g. juices for 40 bht / 1,10€, Mango Sticky Rice for 50 bht / 1,37€ or curry with rice for 60-80 bht 1,64€ - 2,19€. If you want something different, you will also find it here: whether Indian, Falafel, Sushi or Italian - here you really have everything and even in good quality! We also found a world class pizza here! Be aware though, that only the Thai food is cheap here, the rest is a little bit more expensive.

Favorite dishes: stir fried red curry with tofu at Grace & Jennie and fresh-squeezed juices at the juice stand.

Mama Market

small & cozy food market

Compared to Phantip Market, you will find less choice at Mama Market in the heart of Sri Thanu on the west coast, but it is much more relaxed and smaller. The Mama Market is beautifully decorated with fairy lights and you can even listen to live music.

Cheap lunch for everyone

The Phangan Food Court is also near the harbor and a good address if you want to eat street food at lunchtime. Here you will find many different food stalls, whether Thai curry, mango sticky rice, juices, avocado bread, salad or coffee and vegan cake for dessert, the choice is huge. 

Cafés

Coffee with lake view

We discovered this little oasis in the west of the island. Uncle Café is the perfect place to sample one of Thailand's sugary sweet coffee or tea specialties amidst retro charm overlooking Koh Phangan's lagoon. Best of all, there are even plant-based milk alternatives (almond and coconut milk) for just 5 bht / €0.14 extra. In general, you'll pay between 50 - 80 bht / 1,37€ - 2,19€ for drinks.

perfect Coworking café

If you are looking for an air-conditioned café with a productive atmosphere, Indigo Café is the place to go. It's not the cheapest café (cappuccino with oat milk costs 90 bht / 2,51€), but there is a whole floor where you can work with your laptop. There's even vegan Thai coffee, free water and some vegan pastries, so your brain can also be feeded here. 

Coffee with djungel vibes

The name says it all! The Yoga House Café is hidden in the west of the island in the middle of the jungle. Here you can drink coffee in peace with meditative background music and lake view and even work on the laptop. There is both a balcony and a kind of living room, which is super lovingly decorated with colorful cushions, sofas and a beautiful wooden floor. We felt right at home here and like we were in someone's home. There is almond milk for 20 bht / 0,55€ extra, coconut milk without extra charge and water for free. There's even a tempting vegan apple pie with coconut ice cream and a vegan carrot cake on the menu, but at 140 bht / 3.90€ each, they're a real treat.

Here you'll find all the food spots

Did you know that Thailand is a paradise for Kitesurfing?

Auf dem Blog von Faszination Südostasien habe ich einen Guide zu den besten Kitesurf Orten Thailands verfasst.

If you want to know, what is the best season for Kitesurfing and which places are the best, come have a look.

Your are exploring the south of Thailand?

Naomi and Felix from Vegan Nomads wrote an article about vegan restaurants and recommendations about Koh Lipe.

Vegan and vegetarian

Typical Dishes in Thailand

Do you like this article?

Especially in the beginning it takes a lot of time to create a blog. 

If you would like to support me, you can leave a little tip for my next coffee. 

I would be very happy for your support and this helps me to write more beneficial articles for you.

Koh Phangan

Vegan Food Guide

Vegan – authentisch – low budget

Die besten Cafés und Restaurants in Koh Phangan

Wir waren im August 2022 ganze 3 Wochen in Koh Phangan und haben das beste vegane Thaifood für wenig Geld gesucht. 

In der Zeit haben wir uns so sehr in das Essen verliebt, dass es uns schwer fiel, die Insel zu verlassen. 

Neben super guten Restaurants haben wir auch diverse Streetfood-Märkte entdeckt und auch einige süße Cafés gefunden. Den ein oder anderen Geheimtipp würde ich gerne mit euch in diesem Guide teilen, damit auch ihr das beste Essen Thailands erleben könnt.

Weiter unten findet ihr alle Standorte der Tipps auf einer Karte verlinkt. Wenn ihr auf die jeweiligen Überschriften klickt, gelangt ihr auch direkt zu den jeweiligen Restaurants und Cafés.

Restaurants

Absolutes Lieblingsrestaurant

Auch wenn das Restaurant von außen sehr bescheiden und naja, sagen wir mal extrem vollgerümpelt aussieht, haben wir uns in das Essen von Mama Pooh so sehr verliebt, dass dies unser absolutes Lieblingsrestaurant der Insel wurde. Das Restaurant wird ganz allein von der wohl liebevollsten kleinen Omi der Insel geführt, weswegen es auch mal etwas länger dauern kann – doch das Warten lohnt sich! Das Essen schmeckt super authentisch, es gibt viele vegane Optionen, gratis Wasserkaraffe dazu und das alles für extrem wenig Geld. Während Mama Pooh kocht, werkelt nebenan ihr Mann an alten Geräten und im Hintergrund läuft 20er oder 60er Jahre Musik, sodass man sich so fühlt, als wäre man zu Gast bei einer Thai Familie. Lustige Besonderheit: Da Mama Pooh kaum Englisch spricht, müsst ihr die Bestellung selbst aufschreiben: Nummer des Gerichts, Anzahl, Preis und Schärfe auf einer Skala von 1-5 (Mögt ihr es schön würzig kann ich eine 4 empfehlen, für den milden Geschmack eher 1-2). 

Lieblingsgerichte: Thai-Aubergine mit Tofu und Massaman-Curry.

Alles lecker – viel vegan

Unser zweites Liebingsrestaurant. Hier gibt es jedes Thaigericht in einer veganen Variante, wodurch man sich durch die gesamte Vielfalt der Thaiküche schlemmen kann. Hier könnt ihr jeden Tag ein anderes Gericht ausprobieren, denn alles schmeckt lecker! Nicht nur das Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis stimmt, sondern auch die Atmosphäre: hier ist immer gute Stimmung und coole Musik.

Lieblingsgerichte: Khao-Soi und Tom Yam.

Gut und günstig

Das K.C. Kitchen haben wir ausprobiert, als unsere anderen beiden Lieblingsrestaurants geschlossen hatten und waren sofort überzeugt! Das Essen war super lecker, besonders der Mangosalat war richtig erfrischend und nicht ganz so zuckrig, wie man ihn oftmals serviert bekommt. Man kann sich an Wasser und Eiswürfeln soviel selbst bedienen, wie man möchte und man kann hier entspannt sitzen.

Lieblingsgerichte: Papayasalat und Stir Fried Cashew Nuts.

Streetfood

Riesen Auswahl, kleiner Preis

Der Phantip Market in der Nähe des Hafens ist perfekt, wenn ihr verschiedenes Streetfood ausprobieren wollt und Lust auf eine wuselige Atmospähre habt. Hier gibt es diverses Thaifood für wenig Geld: z.B. Säfte für 40 bht / 1,10€, Mango Sticky Rice für 50 bht / 1,37€ oder Curry mit Reis für 60-80 bht 1,64€ – 2,19€. Wenn ihr Lust auf etwas anderes habt, werdet ihr hier auch fündig: egal ob Indisch, Falafel, Sushi oder Italienisch – hier gibt es wirklich alles und sogar in guter Qualität! Wir haben hier z.B. auch eine weltklasse Pizza entdeckt! Seid euch allerdings bewusst, dass hier nur das thailändische Essen günstig ist, der Rest ist ein kleines bisschen teurer. 

Lieblingsgerichte: Stir Fried Red Curry mit Tofu bei Grace & Jennie und frisch gepresste Säfte am Saftstand.

Mama Market

kleiner & gemütlicher Foodmarkt

Im Vergleich zum Phantip Market findet ihr auf dem Mama Market im Herzen von Sri Thanu an der Westküste zwar weniger Auswahl, dafür ist es hier aber viel entspannter und kleiner. Der Mama Market ist schön mit Lichterketten dekoriert und hier könnt ihr euch sogar Livemusik anhören.

Günstiger Lunch für Jedermann

Der Phangan Food Court ist auch in der Nähe des Hafens und eine gute Adresse, wenn ihr schon mittags Streetfood essen wollt. Hier findet ihr viele verschiedene Essensststände, egal ob Thaicurry, Mango Sticky Rice, Säfte, Avocadobrot, Salat oder Kaffee und veganen Kuchen zum Nachtisch, die Auswahl ist riesig. 

Cafés

käffchen mit seeblick

Diese kleine Oase haben wir im Westen der Insel entdeckt. Das Uncle Café ist der perfekte Ort, um inmitten von Retro Charme mit Blick auf Koh Phangans Lagune eine von Thailands zuckersüßen Kaffee- oder Teespezialitäten zu probieren. Das beste daran: es gibt sogar pflanzliche Milchalternativen (Mandel- und Kokosmilch) für nur 5 bht / 0,14 € Aufpreis. Generell zahlt ihr für Getränke zwischen 50 – 80 bht / 1,37€ – 2,19€.

perfektes coworking café

Wer ein klimatisiertes Café mit Arbeitsatmosphäre sucht, ist im Indigo Café richtig. Es ist zwar nicht das allergünstigste Café (Cappuccino mit Hafermilch kostet 90 bht / 2,51€), dafür gibt es aber eine ganze Etage, in der ihr mit eurem Laptop arbeiten könnt. Außerdem gibt es sogar veganen Thai-Kaffee, Wasser umsonst und ein paar vegane Backwaren, sodass auch für Nervennahrung gesorgt ist.

Kaffee mit djungel vibe

Der Name ist Programm! Das Yoga House Café liegt versteckt im Westen der Insel mitten im Djungel. Hier könnt ihr in aller Ruhe mit meditativer Hintergrundmusik und Seeblick Kaffee trinken und sogar am Laptop arbeiten. Es gibt sowohl einen Balkon als auch eine Art Wohnzimmer, was super liebevoll mit bunten Sitzkissen, Sofas und einem wunderschönen Holzboden eingerichtet ist. Wir haben uns hier pudelwohl und wie bei jemandem zuhause gefühlt. Es gibt Mandelmilch für 20 bht / 0,55€ Aufpreis, Kokosmilch ohne Aufpreis und Wasser gratis dazu. Auf der Karte stehen sogar ein verlockender veganer Apfelkuchen mit Kokoseis und ein veganer Karottenkuchen, die es allerdings mit 140 bht / 3,90€ pro Stück in sich haben.

Hier findet ihr alle Empfehlungen

Vegan und vegetarisch

Typische Gerichte in Thailand